UnknownUnknown-3 Unknown-2 Unknown-1

Which of us can resist the temptation of being thought indispensable?

Margaret Atwood,

Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 65626

Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 065625Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 065749

 

 

 

 

In the past year I’ve fully embraced the online world. This is in a lot more ways than just writing a blog, tweeting etc. My most used programs have changed from the standard laptop, desktop applications like Microsoft office to a set of mobile apps: Evernote, Pocket, Zite and recently Wunderlist. I’m finding the apps to be indispensible, and hope they can make me more capable of working effectively. It also helps the ability to balance things between work and home.

Best of all these apps work together and run across multiple platforms. Evernote is the hub, but all of them add a lot of value to my day.

Be infinitely flexible and constantly amazed.

Jason Kravitz

Evernote is the definitely the flagship app for me. If you’re not familiar with it, Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 064813Evernote is an electronic filling cabinet. It ends up being the clearinghouse for information flowing from all these other apps and more. Evernote also runs on every platform (phone iPhone/Android, laptop, desktop, iPad, and web). You can always get your data. My wife uses it at her office as the common system for managing multiple accounts able to deal with data from many sources.

Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 065040I use it to jot down ideas, plan writing assignments, take notes at meetings, save articles, and keep a food, exercise, and personal journal. It can accept info in almost any format and allows you to write notes, and draw graphical comments inside most. It also has a fantastic web clipper that allows me to save web pages directly plus add comments. Another great thing to do is use Evernote to save business cards, travel cards, and other documents that pile up in wallets, or get easily lost. I’ve also used it for saving details of medical appointments, and repair/remodel work at home. It’s the place where I store the details of my referee assignments for soccer as well as notes on the games for future reference.

Evernote-Window copy

It is really appropriate to use the overused word, awesome, to describe it. Evernote is awesome and utterly indispensible. If you haven’t tried it you should.

Wunderlist-screen copyNext is the most recent addition to my staple of mobile apps, Wunderlist. Wunderlist is a to do and task manager. I’ve added it because it is multiplatform. I can have a uniform and synched list across mobile, laptop and desktop apps. I have a set of things that I want to accomplish every day, which repeat along with a set of single use items. All of them can be tracked and dealt with. It is still being tried out, but it’s almost sure that it will be a keeper.

The last two apps are Pocket and Zite, which work hand-in-hand. pocketscreen copy 2Pocket is a way of saving almost anything to read. I use it mostly for web articles to read later, mostly while exercising at the gym. It can also save files from multiple formats. The best thing is that it works automatically from web browsers, and other apps. I can also push the articles directly to Evernote if I really like it! Pocket also has an archive of its own to save things for the long term.

Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 065039 Evernote Camera Roll 20141026 064814

Zite is a way of reading online content. It takes the top articles from multiple sources and making it available for viewing. Often I’ll find interesting things and saving it for later reading in Pocket. I get to choose what I’m interested in and Zite collates the top articles in each area for me to see. It also puts everything together for a list of the top, top stories in my interest list. The only downside to Zite is its unavailability on laptops, desktops and web browsers. I do wish it were more available on all my platforms. On my mobile platforms it is right near the top of my use.

The only way to get what you’re worth is to stand out, to exert emotional labor, to be seen as indispensable, and to produce interactions that organizations and people care deeply about.

Seth Godin

These apps have made me more productive and well informed. Maybe they could help you too.

